Skip To Content

School Safety & Security Task Force

“In the years since Columbine, we have learned a great deal about better securing our schools and Jeffco Public Schools has become a national leader in systems to safeguard students. Jeffco Public Schools is committed to school safety and to working with our community to make sure we all understand the part we have to play in keeping Jeffco’s kids safe.”  - Dr. Jason Glass

Task Force Completes Work

The School Safety & Security Task Force wrapped up their work in September 2018. The group presented their recommendations to the Board of Education on Oct. 4. 

Click here to view the final written recommendations and the district's response.

There is now an on-going School Safety Advisory Committee. Contact Jeff Pierson for information. 

Initial Meeting

security officer at a school

The initial information meeting about school security and safety was held March 20, 2018. The speakers included:

  • Dr. Jason Glass, Jeffco Public Schools Superintendent
  • John McDonald, JPS Executive Director of Security and Emergency Mgmt
  • Susan Payne, Director, Safe2Tell
  • Dr. Katherine McMann, Nicoletti-Flater Associates
  • John-Michael Keyes, I Love U Guys Foundation
  • Jefferson County Sheriff Jeff Shrader
  • Jefferson County District Attorney Pete Weir
  • Westminster Police Chief Tim Carlson
  • Wheat Ridge Police Chief Dan Brennan
  • Lakewood Police Chief Dan McCasky
  • Golden Police Chief Bill Kilpatrick
  • Edgewater Police Chief John Mackey
  • Arvada Police Chief Ed Brady

There were approximately 400 people in attendance. After a presentation and comments by the panel, attendees split into groups to discuss school safety. The meeting concluded with reports from the breakout groups.

Here is some information from the first meeting:

Task Force Application Process

Jeffco Public Schools assembled a task force to further examine our security practices across the district. Applications closed April 10, 2018. Fifty of the over 100 applicants were selected for the task force.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.